I want to believe this is true.

We deserve each other. I know that we both tend to paint ourselves unworthy, but we’re a hell of a match. Surely you can see that. There was some kind of magic in the stars that allowed us to meet, and damn it all if we let it go to waste now.

I keep hearing that patience is a virtue, and my god have I been patient. To spend all this time waiting can be nothing less than love, like it or not. Let’s be honest with ourselves – you’re a piece of me now. I can only speak for myself, but I know that a part of my heart will always belong to you. No matter what. There aren’t many things that I can mark as unconditional, but what I feel for you is one of them.

Whether you love me or not doesn’t change what fate has planned for us. Could you imagine bouncing back from this heartbreak and finding a way to be the best of friends? To still be the first one that I turn to in the best and worst of times?

Even if we never speak again, even if you are forevermore burned into me as a memory, we still have more to tell. I wholeheartedly believe that there’s at least a glimmer of happiness still to play into our story. There will always be a positive spin – we just have to find it. And I say we because I wish you would look for it, too. I can’t go on thinking that you regret everything about me, just like I can’t let you believe that you don’t deserve to be adored.

At the end of the day, though, nothing changes. I did everything right and I still lost you.

Leave a Reply

