Hey You, it’s goodbye time

I’ll slap on a smile, wondering to myself if you’d still think to peel it away and paint me a new one. A real one. You always were determined to earn my laughter. I think I took it for granted.

Fourteen days from now, it’s all over. Everything we never got to be will be left here in a heap as the dust settles. The could-have-beens that didn’t cannot follow us out. We owe each other better than that, you know. All we’ll leave with is the smidge of possibility that our paths cross again and that hello is perfectly painless the second time around.

This is all the goodbye you’ll get because I’m the hitting the ground running in two weeks time. I’m getting out of this hellhole. Maybe I’ll throw up a roadside sign on my way out. Lafayette: the town that tried to kill me.

So, yeah, this is the last time you’ll hear from me. Just know that you were a bright spot amidst everything terrible. Thank you for the laughter and smiles, thank you for the hookups and drunk dials. Thank you for everything you taught me. I can’t say you were the best thing to have ever happened to me, but boy were you special. 

 

Leave a Reply

