In case you’ve had a guilty conscience.

If I drink myself into oblivion tonight, rest easy knowing it wasn’t because of you.
I mean, maybe things would’ve happened differently if you’d been here, and maybe alcohol wouldn’t sing that siren song in your company. But hey, who knows.
If I wake up disappointed to have done so, don’t try to shoulder the blame.
Don’t ask yourself if there’s anything more you could have done. There always will be more could-haves. Always. And they’re leeches, so be careful.
You didn’t do this to me. I did.
I’m the one with my hand glued to a bottle six nights a week. I’m the one who takes pills to sleep.
I blew our potential out of proportion, and I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

