Tell me what to say to you

There’s a cruel dimness masquerading in your eyes tonight. I could feel it long before I could see. There’s a cold distance radiating through your bones tonight. I know because we’re still connected, you and me.

You’ve been known to seek warm spots in friends and their smiles. You turned your back on the spark we built. I ought to be better, warmer by now – it’s been a while. But you put out the flame and stuffed me with guilt.

Seven plus weeks since I felt your arms loop around me last. Five and a half since you took a swing and walked away. Fifty days out from a kiss I didn’t know would be our last. Twenty-two since we both ran out of things to say.

2 thoughts on “Tell me what to say to you

Leave a Reply

