One Month Tomorrow

Time is supposed to heal a broken heart, but what if it doesn’t?

What if I never manage to escape this cycle, this constant nagging pain that overwhelms my entire body? What if I’m never okay? What if I can never love someone again? What if you were my only shot at happiness? What if I run into your mom at the store and choke on my own tears when she says they miss having me around? What if you were wrong but never find a way to admit it? What if I’m still sleeping in your shirt a year later? What if I always need these pills now to sleep? What if this kills me?

What if I can’t keep doing this any longer?

These things, they say, get easier with time. Soon I won’t hurt quite as much, like eventually the ghost of you will shift from my heart to my head and it’ll all make sense. Time heals all wounds, or that’s what I’m told. But what if it doesn’t? What if you haunt me until the day I die?

Leave a Reply

