Gambits

We’re dancing on a chessboard. Jumping and back and forth and all around, not sure how to feel close when we aren’t allowed to share spaces. You offer up a gambit, and I forget to question your intentions. It feels like gift, not a maneuver to better your chances of defeating me. You’ve already won me over, you know. So what if I lose a few of my pawns if it can remind me that you want me? You’re after the queen, but Love, she’s the queen of hearts, and she’s already yours.

Leave a Reply

