The beginning of everything

I wasn’t looking for anyone to be with. I’d just stumbled, dazed and still a little achy, out of someone else’s on deck circle. And that’s when you showed up.

In your own quiet way, you walked indirectly into my life, setting off alarms with each thing you did or said. My mother claims she knew in an instant that you were someone I should meet, and she urged me to come home. My step-father gave you a quick rundown of my statistics – I was a Boilermaker, not ugly, and had all my teeth. You laughed, and now looking back on it, so do I.

That was the beginning of everything. I cringe at the thought of crediting my parents as our matchmakers, but they were in the right place at the right time when I couldn’t be. I am forever grateful that they thought to give me a call and act as crazy messengers. I didn’t understand then why I agreed to move up my visit home, but I did, and now I know it was fate. My plans changed when the universe said that it was time for me to meet you. Every day since, you’ve given me a gift of balance and happiness. You turned my dull aching back into a racing heartbeat.

I don’t know what it was about a late Thursday in May that made the world decide to give us to one another, but I’m thankful for it. I am so, so thankful for you. I pray for you and for us every single night, and I look forward to seeing what lies in our future. We just might’ve found what we weren’t looking for.

2 thoughts on “The beginning of everything

Leave a Reply

