What I Know For Sure

There are 31 days in August, and numbers are a universal language. Orange is a secondary color, but my first favorite. The high today was 73 degrees, and I took a mere 463 steps between noon and 1pm. There are 4 text messages awaiting responses on my screen. I am waiting for the 1 message from you.

These are things I know for sure. Things that are fact and can be proven as such. Things that keep me sane in a world of clouded opinions and objective outbursts. These are things that I can count on. Numbers change, days pass, but the idea remains the same. I will take X number of steps and send Y number of messages. There’s comfort in the numeric pattern that weaves in and out of my routine. I find peace in the rare moments of certainty.

Leave a Reply

