In Ruins

I’m very wanting lately. You kind of ruined me that way, you know.
I never used to care when the sun set too early.
I never used to notice when men’s eyes lingered a second too long.
All I knew and all I saw was you.
It was your eyes reflected back in aquarium glass.
Your lips pursed in poignant concentration as we drove through the mountains.
Your hand that left a trail of sparks along my spine.
Your shoulders that rocked me in the dead of night.
Your grin that felt just like home in the early shades of each morning after.
You were the peace that I was certain I’d never know.
Having you was like uncovering the treasure of personality within me.
Loving you was like learning to be whole.
I want it all back. Every kiss, every fight, every night and every morning.
I want you and I want that side of me. I want everything.
You kind of ruined me that way, you know.

Leave a Reply

