In case you’ve forgotten

I’m a bruised piece of fruit, a bumper full of dents and scratches.
I’m a shattered bottle of tequila busted on your bathroom floor.
Nothing extraordinary, but I can capture your attention for a passing moment.
I can be broken and real and vulnerable if that’s what you’re into.
I can be haphazardly taped back together if that’s what you’re into.
My story isn’t a happy one, and I don’t really do fairytales.
If you think you can change me – save me – good luck trying.
I’m not just dust and ash and bones in a heap on the floor.
I’m still a heartbeat, even with the hiccups. Even with the quiet.

2 thoughts on “In case you’ve forgotten

Leave a Reply

