Full Moon Nights

You started the scream and forced me to finish it. With my jaw locked into place and my fists clenched, you led me away. Led me astray.

My eyes were all but sewn shut but I remember the sounds. Flannel tearing and chains falling, tires spinning and latches locking. I remember the smell of spilled gasoline and the feel of the cold tile beneath me.

I remember it all, but pretend I don’t. Meanwhile, you blocked out every memory of me. That’s why on these full moon nights, I sit by your window to finish the scream.

Leave a Reply

