For The Cruelty

I’m shattered by your smile, made to feel inadequate by your bellowing laugh.
I don’t deserve them, I don’t deserve you.
Everything I’ve ever done adds up to something terrible, and I’m sorry.

I wish I had known better.
Had someone told me that you’d come along someday, I would have been more careful.
I never would have allowed the things I did in the times before you.
But I did, and this is the price I pay.

Karma sent you, didn’t she? To show me all the things I’ll never have.
Well when it all goes up in flames, tell her I learned my lesson.

Tell her she got me good.

Your laugh was enough to break me, everything else was just for the cruelty.

Leave a Reply

