Just So You Know

I’m never going to be what you need. I can’t give you the tools you’re missing. I can’t suck it up and pretend to believe in something that doesn’t make sense to me. I can’t dance with you without being nervous. I can’t quote you without fear of being wrong. I can’t show you the things I write for you. I can’t do it. I can’t move on. I can’t convince you that you’re the greatest thing to have ever happened to me.

But I can stay, and I can help. I can show you the things you’ve been blind to. I can tell you stories of yourself that no one else knows. I can pull you out the darkness, out of the wells, out of the ditches when you fall too hard. I can drink your pain away for you when you’re afraid of the bottle. I can sober you up when you’re not. I can document our moments from the start to all eternity. And I can love you worse than anyone you’ll ever know.

 

Leave a Reply

