Noon Today

Two deep breaths, and a smile. You open the door and waltz inside, and I live and die a thousand times in the nanoseconds before your eyes lock onto mine. Your ever-present goofy grin erupts into a blinding showcase of teeth and lips and happiness. I’m putty in your presence, and you don’t even know it. I smile back like you were the last person I would ever get to see. Like that was it, everything came down to you and me.

I wish too often that I could recall the first words I said to you. Or, you to me. What I’d give to have records of every little thing. Strange, maybe, but true. I just want some proof that it’s all real, that what I feel is maybe what you feel too. It’s challenging to concentrate on anything but your eyes and your lips, and how they’d close if we kissed… See what I mean? You’re my favorite kind of distracting.

Two deep breaths, and a smile. You tilt your head like I’m some kind of question, and I respond with only a smirk to mask the shadow of a suggestion. What I’d give to make this last – the moments are slow but are gone too fast. I hate to call a person everything, but you sir, are so damn close to perfect. You smile and I laugh like you were the last person I would ever get to see. Everything comes down to you and me.

Leave a Reply

