One Less Day To Go

My two best friends run on borrowed time, and so I’m always afraid to waste it
Minutes are precious to the dying, and Death is so close I can taste it
But our endless stories and their countless laughs that I ache to hear again
Rumble low and move in slow, and I’m afraid it’s a race they can’t win
But they don’t complain of the bitter cold, they still smile through pouring rain
While I’m guilty and grumbling all day long, wallowing in runover pain
To them it’s another day living, but to me it’s one less day to go
I sob through goodbye every single night, but pray to do it again tomorrow

Leave a Reply

