Day/Moment/Second/Midnight /Sunset/Thought/Morning/Day

If there ever comes a day when we must say goodbye for good
I hope I don’t lose my nerve
I hope I tell you what’s in my heart instead of on my hands
I hope you can see that it’s more than blood

If there ever comes a moment when you wonder what could’ve been
I hope you imagine something burning
I hope it becomes clear that you were always like gasoline
I hope you know we’ve been on fire from our first hello

If there ever comes a second when you begin to doubt your dreams
I hope I’m beside you to chase them
I hope if you grow tired, I’ll find the strength to carry you
I hope that if we grow old, it’s together side by side

If there ever comes a midnight when it’s you against the world
I hope that’s when you call for me
I hope I answer on the second ring and smile at your relief
I hope you find peace in the sound of my sleepy voice

If there ever comes a sunset when you need a hand to hold
I hope I’m there to offer you mine
I hope you’re not bothered by chipped polish and clammy palms
I hope I remember to smile after being trained to hide

If there ever comes a thought that makes you wish you’d chosen differently
I hope you know that it’s all okay
I hope I can find a way to show you it’s all behind us now
I hope you believe me when I say my feelings haven’t changed

If there ever comes a morning when I wake up to you beside me
I hope it feels as right as I imagine
I hope you talk in your sleep and maybe say my name
I hope it doesn’t wake you if I kiss your forehead at 2:12 a.m.

If there ever comes a day when we finally set things straight
I hope to God I never lose you
I hope you know what to say when I show up spilling my guts
I hope you know there’s more to my heart than just blood

2 thoughts on “Day/Moment/Second/Midnight /Sunset/Thought/Morning/Day

Leave a Reply

