Unwarranted

I love this and I hate this and it’s driving me insane.
I miss you and I miss us and how we’re all too much the same.
But you’re impossible and maddening and I don’t want to pick up the phone tonight.
I’m mad but not looking to fight.
Why do you do this to me?
You know it makes me crazy, and not in a good way.
You know you’ll make me drag it out and then you won’t take the blame.

Then there’ll be nothing to say.
You’ll turn the tables and I’ll be insane.
But whatever.
I don’t care anymore and it’s your fault and you’ll miss me.
You’ll remember all the gold and as always, yeah, you’ll miss me.
And in a few months you’ll be back.
And I know better than to say it’s all an act.
‘Cause I’ll miss you and I’ll smile and I’ll be happy all over.
Not a single thought about revenge or closure.
What I’m mad about now won’t matter then.
It’ll be all laughter and greatness, and beautiful again.
And I don’t even know why I’m so upset with you tonight.
Just that something’s not right.
But whatever.
I’ll try to calm before bed to keep you far away from my dreams.
You’re important, but right now all I want is to sleep.
But yeah, life without you and this and us would be boring.
So I just hope my unwarranted anger retreats before me.
Why do you do this to me?
Why do I always want more?

Leave a Reply

