Deep

A storm passes, splattering memories on once rose-tinted glasses

I feel and fall and the cycle repeats; I always did love a little too deep

You move in like thunder and always leave loud; I’m a flower you grew but came back and drowned

A could-have-been-pretty-great and a just-a-little-bit-too-late

Maybe a never-should-have-asked-to-dance or a what-a-waste-of-a-second-chance

Left with a whole lot of memories, a lot of photographs and never-forget-mes

I stare and they stare back, and sometimes I swear they even laugh

I see your eyes in the darkened clouds and under every Cubs cap in every single crowd

Lightning flashes without a warning, wakes me up like your kiss good morning

My friends all say that karma’s due, that I won’t always sleep alone in a bed made for two

But there are no more lovers, just cold feet with nowhere to hide beneath the covers

And there’ll always be another storm, and no memory is gonna keep me warm

So I feel and fall and let the cycle repeat; I always did love a little too deep

Leave a Reply

