The Last Time

The last time I was left behind, I didn’t stand around waiting

I didn’t watch for his eyes to flash in the rearview mirror of that stupid Ford

I didn’t spend the entire night waiting for him to call me and apologize

And I didn’t cry to myself in the shower the next morning

The last time I was left behind, I saw it coming

I knew from day one that there would be no happy ending with this one

But I wasn’t looking for that

I wanted a distraction, an adventure, anything to keep me guessing

And that’s what he gave me

Memories with him aren’t of picnics and movie theaters and meeting the family

We went dancing in bars and spent nights at the Super 8 motel

So when I look back, I hear a muffled jukebox and see blurry smiles

Sure, it was fun, but it’s really nothing to be heartbroken over now that it’s ended

He was good for me and he was bad for me

It was just what I was after

So when he left town in that ugly red truck, I kissed him goodbye once and then I went home

I made myself dinner as I watched the Braves game on TV

The last time I was left behind, he didn’t get away with a piece of my heart

Leave a Reply

