Drive 365

Singing to myself, trying to keep my mind blank.

One, one thirty, two, two thirty, three a.m.

I don’t want to think.

I don’t want to go out.

Counted absent in class.

I don’t want to have to write the date.

I don’t want to remember.

With my luck, today will be the day that I run into you somewhere.

Say hello or duck and run?

I begin to wonder what you wonder.

Regrets, no regrets, apologies, harsh realities.

I wonder if you’ve seen a calendar today.

Do you know?

Does it hurt you too?

The sun’s shining but it’s bitterly cold.

It’s not raining this time.

Perhaps that means this year will be better.

Maybe days of gold are coming.

I certainly hope so.

Because I don’t want to remember.

I’ve spent a year doing just that.

I’m done.

I’ll keep singing to myself, but my mind still races.

One, one thirty, two, two thirty, three a.m.

All I can do is think of how you never drove to see me.

You couldn’t be talked into it.

Couldn’t be bothered.

In all our days, I wasn’t worth the drive.

And you ask why I don’t want to remember.

Leave a Reply

