Super Bowl XLVIII: A fan who only craved a fight

To me, the Super Bowl is a holiday. I go all out and whatever happens, happens. Sometimes I get some weird looks because I’m a girl with a passion for sports that almost looks violent on the surface in the wrong light. And other times I make new friends who are delighted with my enthusiasm. It all depends on the year and the teams and the crowd and plenty of other things. But it doesn’t matter much how it all falls into place, just as long as I get my Super Bowl.

At work this morning, I pestered my supervisor over and over about what way he thought the game would go. I danced around the store by myself spouting off quotes and predictions and everything else football-related. When I clocked out, I spent my walk back home trying to decide what food to order and calculating how long waits would be for delivery tonight. My brain has been functioning at this level all weekend.

And then kickoff came and everything fell apart. Tonight’s game was a letdown of sorts, in case you didn’t see it. I’d decided as soon as they won a couple of weeks ago to side with the Broncos. After all, I grew up in Indiana as a Colts fan, and also a Peyton fan. Jacob Tamme is of great interest to me as well. Anyway, it started badly for Denver and never really got any better. To be honest, it was probably rather boring even for Seahawks fans. They didn’t get the game they deserved to see. I can only imagine how much it would suck to have spent thousands on tickets only to have a low-key blowout to witness.

By the end of the first half, I was more interested in keeping up with twitter than keeping my eyes on the screen. John Green, Pat McAfee, and Chase Rice were the authors of my personal favorite comments of the night, by the way. And, in my opinion, the majority of the commercials weren’t up to par either. My favorite three had all been on the internet days in advance anyway, so it didn’t much matter if I kept my eyes glued to the screen during breaks.

The game was over early and with a score I won’t even bother mentioning because I fear that it might bring me to tears. I sat on my futon with my friend and realized how calm I was. It wasn’t right. It wasn’t a Super Bowl mood or mindset. I wanted so much to be jumping up and yelling at the television. Be it a good or bad ending, I wanted a solid game. I wanted competition and a fighting chance. That’s not what I got. Since I compared the Super Bowl to Christmas on my own Twitter account earlier, I suppose one could say I was delivered an ample amount of coal this year.

On the plus side, I did get to eat a lot of pizza. And by that, I mean an entire pizza. By myself. Also, once the game ended, my friend and I found an app that’s basically an electronic version of Cards Against Humanity, and it’s the best thing ever. We started a game with my brother and hilarity ensued. There was a bag of Sour Patch Kids and a Monster, which is what I’ll credit for being so painfully wide awake at this hour when I have an 8:30 class in the morning. And there was a solid hour or two of sharing gif sets on Tumblr and stalking BuzzFeed for new articles.

The game may have sucked, but it wasn’t a bad day. Now I can start getting myself pumped up for baseball season. My Sox are reigning champs, so it’s definitely going to be an exciting year. And I have the joy of knowing that spring break is less than six weeks away now. Just under forty days until I land in Texas! I really can’t complain about life, but I just can’t pretend to be happy with the game. Here’s to hoping for a real fight in XLIX.

Leave a Reply

