Off to a grand start

Life is good right now. Well, mostly good. There is the abundance of snow that I have to battle on my walks to campus as well as the constant emails I’ve been receiving about the club meetings I slept through last evening. But all in all, things are good. I’m happy.

Classes began with the start of the week, and I’m thrilled to say that I’m finally taking more classes in the animal science department. After months of statistics and economics, it’s great to be back into something that I actually kind of care about. Also, I’m working a few nights a week this semester, which will make it much easier to fund my impulsive day-to-day decisions during spring break and also satiate my desire to skydive for my 20th birthday. Oh, and I suppose it’ll be good to have some more work experience under my belt, too.

I got to sleep in this morning, as will be the case for most Tuesdays and Thursdays until summer. Then it will be summer and everything will be good. I had Pringles and cherry coke for breakfast because I’ve been too lazy to get down the hall to the shower in order to be presentable enough to shuffle over to a dining court for real food. Additionally, I wrote two new poems practically in my sleep and I just found three more blogs to follow that I think I’ll enjoy very much. I’m telling y’all, life is just lovely right now.

I’m guessing it’s because there’s so much to look forward to. I mentioned my spring break trip (watch out, San Antonio) and skydiving, but there’s plenty more. I have tickets for another concert at the end of March, there are countless new country albums hitting stores in the coming months, and I snuck a storytelling in songwriting book into my textbook order from Amazon. I wouldn’t mind having my couple hundred dollars back, but I can’t wait for that package to arrive.

In the midst of all of this, I’ve been thinking a lot about my future. When I was snowed in at home a little over a week ago, all I could do was examine all sorts of details about this point in my life that I’ve yet to reach. I changed concentrations within my major not too long ago, which left me with a huge sense of relief and more assurance that I would actually enjoy my career path. I found the area I wanted to live in after college, and I researched jobs and housing there, started a budget, and discussed all of it with one of my longtime and closest friends. She said it sounded like the sort of life I was cut out for. That gave me all sorts of confidence about where I’m headed.

So yeah, it’s an icy hell outside. My toes are cold and begging for socks in my tiny dorm room where, even though the thermostat reads 74 degrees, it never feels warm. But with everything seemingly falling into place in my life, I have many more reasons to be happy than I do to complain. 2014 is already shaping up to be a very kind year.

Leave a Reply

