Waking Pause

Sleepy eyes have trouble distinguishing bodies and shadows, so for the briefest moment, I thought you’d stayed. I was warm, comfortable, and only semi-conscious. It was all too easy to mistake the lumps in my blanket for you.

I begin to reach for you, slowly and heavily hoping to pull you in closer to me, but my arm stops in midair. Suddenly, I remember you leaving. You left, you’re gone, and we certainly don’t sleep side by side anymore. But look there – you’re right beside me. You came back? You’re back to stay now? I know better, but hope swells inside of me.

I flip on the cold bedside lamp and flinch as the bulb flickers to life. It’s too bright and reveals my lonesome self to my sleepy eyes.

Leave a Reply

