Thirst

Yearning has left me weak.

Your kiss is all that can satiate me, can quench this thirst and salvage my raw, aching throat.

There’s no peace I’d rather know.

There’s nothing I need more than I need saving.

Pride isn’t an issue anymore; I’m too far gone for that.

I’ll beg if I have to.

You surely know that your lips could renew me if only they’d stayed.

I could swim in your eyes if you hadn’t bolted away.

But you fled like water that had somewhere to be.

You boiled up and disappeared when my passion proved too hot.

Just like water, you’re essential.

You could’ve saved me instead of drowning me.

But just like water, it wasn’t your choice to make.

Leave a Reply

