My Breakfast Club

I finally found my Breakfast Club. After years of wondering why the beloved movie starring the inevitable eventual bond between five personified high school stereotypes didn’t hit me like it seemed to hit everyone else, I found the movie that does. Tonight, I watched a film that struck all the chords that The Breakfast Club missed. Anyone care to take a guess as to what movie takes the cake?

I won’t keep you in suspense; it was Ten Inch Hero.

Honestly, I went into tonight just excited to see Jensen Ackles play this guy, Priestly. I’d seen an assortment of pictures of his character on Pinterest, and it looked like I could get a good laugh out of it. I had no idea what the storyline was, or who was in it other than Jensen and Danneel Harris. No one I knew had ever seen it, and I didn’t bother reading any reviews first. Hello, no spoilers. So yeah, I just kinda jumped into it, ready to let it take me in whatever direction it went.

A little over an hour and a half later, I’m blown away. This movie has it all. There’s the romanticism and the wit, the comedy and the camaraderie, the moments of hopelessness and the humanity. It addresses stereotypes from more than one angle. It shows us that it’s not necessary to hide our pasts, even if we don’t want anything to do with our old lives anymore. The scenery is beautiful on top of that. There are multiple story lines that mesh just as well as they stand on their own. Parts of it are storybook perfection. But it’ll throw you for loops sometimes, too. A couple of scenes made me cry, and I assure you, that’s no easy task.

It’s genuinely difficult for me to put into words what I’m experiencing after seeing this for the first time. I have every intention of holding a viewing party to enlighten my friends before we leave for break. Maybe they’ll love it, maybe they won’t. There’s no way of knowing if it’ll hit them with the intensity that it hit me, but it’s worth sharing nonetheless. I really think there’s something in it for everyone; a character or situation that will really win you over, that you’ll be rooting for. It left me with hope and just an overwhelming sense of happiness.

Ten Inch Hero was nothing like I expected it to be. I got the laughs that I bargained for, but more than that, it delivered an understanding that I’ve been curious about for a while now. Needless to say, I recommend it to all, and I’ll be adding this one to the permanent collection.

Leave a Reply

