Peace and a Piece

When the chill cuts through air for good
I’m reminded of demons
I’m reminded of lost grace
October swallows the last drops of summer
I’m left with frozen bones
And an expressionless face

A ghost that’ll always haunt me
Don’t know if you’ll ever leave
Will you ever give me peace?

The breeze scatters pleasant memories
A single smile left in shards
Screams at me like bloody hands
I can never escape what I thought we had
What’s left of a better time
Can’t move on the way you can

The demons taught me how to use them
Metaphors and analogies
I never said what I meant
A defense against your cold shoulder
Afraid to step any closer
When I only wanted in

A ghost that’ll always haunt me
Because I begged you not to leave
Will you ever give me a piece?

2 thoughts on “Peace and a Piece

  1. This has the feel of lyrics, and I noticed in your bio that you’ve written songs. Any chance this could be one of them? It’s awesome!

    1. Thank you so much! Actually, you’re close. This poem happened because of a line in a song I wrote. I just felt like it could be elaborated on, and well..here we are.

Leave a Reply

