Nothing Stays

You’ve been empty for far too long, and now you don’t remember how to hold something inside your heart anymore. I’ve poured my love into you in every way I can think of, but it never stays. You hold out your hands, but you don’t think to cup them and catch something. Instead, your fingers remain spread and your eyes wide, wondering why nothing stays.

Unsure if you were meaning to, you showed me everything. You cried to me when the facade came down with the rising moon. Your tears and your lips both asked, again and again, why? Why can’t I capture it? Why doesn’t it want to stay? Nothing I can say will ease your pain, so I just hold you all night long in an attempt to be your comfort. You think you’re broken and falling apart, but I’ll hold you together. I won’t go anywhere until you’re okay. I promise to stay.

When you finally drift off into a dream, I let my own tears fall softly onto your chest. It’s too much to pretend I can do this when it only hurts me. I give you everything, but you can’t even hold it. I’m only human; I crave the love of another person, and I want that other person to be you. But at the same time, I can see what it does to you to know that you’re letting it all go to waste. It kills you that you don’t know how to fix it. And that’s the hardest thing to see. Maybe it would be easier for both of us if I walked away…but I’m terrified of letting go of you.

I don’t want to see you hurt more than you already do. So what do I do? Is it harder for you to watch me walk away, knowing that I gave you everything I could? Or is it harder to know that you have me sticking around even though you break my heart every moment we’re together? Look at  you; you’re so empty. As hard as you try to hold tight to my love, it always slips through your fingers and the cracks in your heart. No matter how many nights I spend crying, I can’t let you do this alone. I love you. I know you think that nothing stays, but you’re wrong.

Leave a Reply

