You should write a song about me

I don’t recall how it happened into our conversation, but suddenly we were talking about my writing. Now see, I normally don’t have much to say about it. I don’t like to share my work with people unless I write it with the intent of sharing. It’s messy that way. Regardless, the topic was there and I didn’t know how to change it. Actually, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to. He was someone special, and this was a good way to let him in, to show him something that not everyone sees.

What do you write about? he asked, not harnessing his curiosity in one bit.

I wasn’t sure how I wanted to answer. Being too specific would only end with awkwardness. Being too vague would only lead to him making assumptions. Tough call. I settled for, I dunno. Places, people, experiences. 

Almost instantly, he replied, You should write a song about me.

I don’t know what I expected him to say, but that certainly wasn’t it. I sat there in shock, staring at the place where the words had been before time expired and they disappeared. I mean, did I even read that right? I wanted to go back and double-check, but again, the message was gone. Damn snapchat and its stupid disappearing acts. I took a deep breath and probably furrowed my brow, because that’s just what I do. There were a couple different approaches I could take.

My first thought was, Yeah, I will. By the way, there are already several of those in the vault. That was too long for a snapchat anyway, but it really wouldn’t have been the greatest way to go. It was honest, but more than either of us really bargained for. The next thing to cross my mind was, Who says I haven’t already? That was flirty and forward, but again, a little too much. I got tired of thinking about it and finally just went with the easy way out.

Hmmm. That might be interesting.

He seemed to take it as, Yeah sure, I’ll get right on that. But that’s okay because I sort of did. Since that conversation, I’ve completed more than a couple lyrical letters to him and about him. Maybe it won’t be too long before he thinks to ask about seeing one of them.

3 thoughts on “You should write a song about me

  1. Taylor! You wouldn’t believe how I stumbled across your blog, but it’s so good to see that you’re still writing! And the songs. That makes me so happy :) Now you just need to start showing those lyrics to someone who can really do something with them and you’ll go far. Miss you, girl!

    1. Oh my goodness, Rachel! Thank you so much! I miss you too, and I’m very curious as to how you found me here…hah. Anyway, we’ll have to catch up soon. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

