Getting close at last

It finally feels close. After more than thirteen weeks home, I finally seem to be closing in on move-in day. Twelve days. If you’re wondering, this is the first day that I have fewer days left than weeks completed. And, believe me, that feels amazing.

However, now that it does seem to be within reach, I find myself thinking of all the things I still haven’t done this summer. People I haven’t hung out with enough, places I never got around to visiting, and countless errands and activities that got pushed aside. Suddenly, I’m very busy.

In my twelve days that remain, four will be spent babysitting for about 12 hours a day. Another will be devoted to packing (and re-packing, knowing myself) my things and loading up the van. One afternoon will be all about preparing my car for the drive up there. An evening will be spent at one of my brother’s preseason football events. Sometime or other, I have to give Nike a bath, and at some point, I would really like to thoroughly clean my bedroom at home. Those last couple of days are going to involve some goodbyes, and who knows how long that might take. Add in time at the pool, nights at friends’ houses, and random trips to Muncie or Indy, and I’m pretty much booked.

It’s a lot to do, and I’m sort of stressed about it. But at the same time, I can’t help laughing because I managed to procrastinate this much even in the summer. I don’t doubt that I’ll get it done though. Actually, it may be good for me to keep busy. Two of my best friends will be all moved in by this time next week, and I’ll be left here with several days still to go. Having stuff to do will hopefully make it all move along a little faster.

If you’ve read any of my other posts, you know how excited I am. I can’t wait to escape this little town (again), but even more than that, I can’t wait to get back to my life at school. I miss everyone more than I ever imagined I would, and I can’t wait to live with one of my very best friends. This year is another adventure waiting to happen, and while I know it’s not all going to be glittering and wonderful, a good bit of it will be. Those moments are what I live for. Twelve days until they begin again.

Leave a Reply

