Dear You: Seven more letters

A couple of months ago, I wrote five short letters to some people in my life (link below). No names were given, only a paragraph of things I’d tell each person if they were right there, right then. Well, it ended up being kind of interesting to write, so here are some more. 

Dear You,

It was good to see you this week, even if it was only for an hour. I wish we would meet up more often, but I’m getting tired of trying and getting no response. I do try. I’m a little scared to face the fact that we’re falling apart, but at least I’m doing something about it. Anyway, maybe I’ll see you again when the crew assembles again. I’d really like that, despite what you may think.

Love, Taylor

Dear You,

It’s been a while. I’m kind of bummed that we only keep up via sparse Facebook posts, but it’s better than it was a few years ago. You seem to be doing well, as I would expect. You have some of the most admirable qualities I’ve ever seen in a guy our age. Do you know that? It sucks that we can’t hang out all the time because we share great, chill vibes whenever we’re together. Anyway, hopefully I’ll see you again within the next year or two. And hey, have the time of your life when school starts this fall.

Love, Taylor

Dear You,

I just sent you the most ridiculous snapchat of my life, and I hope you don’t disown me as a friend for it. Hahaha. I’m really glad we’ve been keeping up over the summer because there are some people who I haven’t spoken to since the last day of classes. I’d probably go insane if that was the case for us. We just have too many senseless things to share. But I love it. Less than six weeks now until we’re reunited! And then Purdue had better watch out…we’ll be back better than ever. Oh, and hey, we’re taking more pictures for “the wall” this time around. Your presence is lacking there.

Love, Taylor

Dear You,

More than anything else, I miss you. It’s like the saddest thing in the world to realize that we haven’t seen each other in almost two years. Two years! My goodness, that’s ridiculous. We’ve really got to change that pronto. You’re perhaps the one of the most optimistic and happy-go-lucky guys I’ve had the pleasure of knowing, and I hope that never changes. You’re doing incredible things and strengthening your faith every single day. I’m so proud of you. Whatever you are, you’re a good one. ;) Hahaha. Miss you, dear.

Love, Taylor

Dear You,

I think I’m gonna text you tonight and have you help me out with a song I’ve been working on. So we’ll talk soon, but I see on Instagram that you’re having a thrilling time lately. Sunburns everywhere, a broken bone or two, no more wisdom teeth. Goodness, man, you’re living it up. Anyway, I just wanted to say thanks for checking up on me from time to time, and especially for taking on the role of my go-to song guy. You may not understand how important of a role that is, but I’m telling you now. You see/hear songs that my subjects don’t even know about. So you’re pretty special. I miss you! And hey, buy some sunscreen.

Love, Taylor

Dear You,

I’m at a crossroads here. Things have gotten so weird lately that I don’t know what to say. We had our moment a good while back, but since then, you basically jumped off the face of the earth. I don’t really know what to say. Goodbye? Or catch you later? Are we ever gonna talk again? I don’t know. Maybe the sudden disappearances run in your family…that would almost make sense. Except not. But I hope summer finds you well, and I hope you got that job you were wanting so much. You missed the cookouts yet again, by the way. So yeah. I don’t what happened, but I guess I just hope you’re okay.

Love, Taylor

Dear You,

I can’t believe I’ve made it this far into summer without our little pack. I mean, it’s been more than two months now without Insomnia Cookie binges or guilt-tripping each other into going to the co-rec. It’s gonna be kinda weird to go back and be missing two of the others, but I imagine they’ll still be around sometimes. I hope you’re ready for all the crazy new adventures to come. I laugh just thinking about it. If you hear from the others, tell them I said hi! I wish we could all meet up somewhere, but I know it would never work. Stay busy, and I’ll see you in 41 days!

Love, Taylor

Leave a Reply

