So you think I’m different

Being told that I’m different will never get old. Seriously, I love it.

I acknowledge that everyone is different, but so many people act the same. I don’t get it, but I do get tired of it. That’s why it’s so nice to find out that someone notices when I’m just doing my own thing.

You know what else I like about it? I like that I don’t know what they saw in me that was different. Because normally, they don’t tell. Or they sort of do, but in a really vague way. If I knew what was noticeably different about me, I might start over-thinking it…and that’s never good. Ever. I’m just so excited to hear I’m different that I don’t care why.

Maybe it’s all the writing. Perhaps it’s the fact that I have pet goats. Or maybe it’s the painfully obvious confusion I have with myself over things sometimes. I don’t know. It’s likely that it’s none of those things. It’s probably stuff that I would never, ever think of on my own. And honestly, I like that even more.

I don’t set out to be different, as much as I like to hear it. Hipster isn’t a word that’s ever been used to describe me. It’s just that I’ve finally embraced the overwhelming apathy I have for trends and norms and all of that. Sure, sometimes I do end up liking the trends, and that’s fine too. It’s about doing whatever. Honestly, I don’t know how to say it other than that.

A piece of advice, though, before I go. If someone truly and regularly strikes you as different, tell them that they do. Unless you’ve been on the receiving end of that conversation, you have no idea how much it can mean to hear that.

Leave a Reply

