The (un?) importance of education

Education has a lot of meanings.

To me, an education is something you attain through some sort of structured system, I guess. Knowledge is what you learn. A good education will provide you with much knowledge, so I can’t argue education isn’t working. If it were truly a disaster, I think we would’ve done away with it a long time ago. It works well enough to keep using it.

But it isn’t nearly as important as it’s made out to be.

I’ve been incredibly fortunate to have received the education that I have. I won’t deny that. I was able to attend school without any worries, which isn’t the case for so much of the world. That’s part of why education is built up so much in the first place. A lot of people crave it. I can’t say that I blame them either, but I’m also sort of of the opinion that some of them could try harder to learn on their own.

Mr. Hamilton, my biology teacher from freshman year and also AP junior year, always made a point to remind us of something. He’d say, perhaps quoting someone else, “Never let your education get in your way of learning.” It makes perfect sense. However, there’s also some incredible irony in the fact that I heard this from a teacher at a public school. I may have never been exposed to it without having the educational system.

So that’s kind of where I stand. I’m torn, really. I think we learn the most important things simply by going out there and living. We also gain a lot of knowledge through education that helps us live better lives. We learn so much and I wouldn’t choose not to go to school. I mean, there’s no law making me go to college, but Purdue has been one of the best things to ever happen to me.

I appreciate education very much, but I fear it slightly as well. Like Hammy always told us, education has a tendency to get in the way of learning the important things. You have to watch out for yourself.

Leave a Reply

